Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Music Review (Tamil): Meyaadha Maan

Music Review (Tamil): Meyaadha Maan
Music Composer: Santosh Narayanan and Pradeep Kumar

Thangachi song treads on the familiar Santosh Narayanan's sound cues and except for the brilliant bassline throughout the song, the track for most of the parts is a dreary listen. Anthony Daasan's limited vocal range brings down the song further. Apart from the surprising guitar strums and piano keys, the song has very less to offer. Pradeep Kumar composes the blissful Enna Naan Seiven and the soft rock laden track has irresistible Santosh Narayanan flavor to it. Composer employed brilliant guitar strums and the pause in the interlude before Kalyani Nair's humming gives reverberating effect. Pradeep sings the song also and the rendition is top notch as usual.

Santosh Narayanan comes with a quirky Address Song- S Madhu and the composer nails both the arrangements as well as the singing portion. Though the lyrics sound pedestrian, the amusing tone of the song gels well with the track. The minimalistic rhythm portions work to the song favor, however, composer tries hard for the intoxicating tone in the interludes. Area Gaana brings back to the Santosh Narayanan's debut film Attakathi and Ka Ka Bala sounds astoundingly similar to Gaana Bala. The tune fails to engage the listener and SaNa's template sounds to be overused and becomes wearisome listen.

Megamo Aval rides mainly on the soulful rendition of Pradeep Kumar and Ananthu while Santosh Narayanan weaves his magic in the arrangements with his serene piano and synth backdrop. The brilliantly tuned anupallavi and the classical flute in the interludes linger on the listener's mind even after the song ends. Santosh Narayanan brings back Dhee after Irudhi Suttru and hands her once again brilliant string dominated song Rathna Katti. The strings sections are an absolute delight to listen and the singer's idiosyncratic vocals able lift the appeal of the song. Though the song may not be an instant chartbuster, the brilliance in the arrangements deserves repeated listen. Pradeep Kumar ends the soundtrack with Nee Mattum Podhum where retro tune meets rock flavored arrangements. The funky arrangements are backed by lovely rendition by Sid Sriram and Thanks to Pradeep for using Sid's vocals for a different kind of tune. Dharshana KT supports the singer effectively.

Verdict: Santosh Narayanan and Pradeep Kumar deliver a classy set of melodies for Meyaadha Maan and the melodies work much better than Santosh Narayanan's quirky tracks.

My Rating: 8/10

Pick of the Album: Enna Naan Seiven, Rathna Katti, Address Song, Nee Mattum Podhum, Meghamo Aval

P.S You can listen to the songs in Saavn.