Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Music Review (Tamil): Rangoon

Music Review (Tamil): Rangoon
Music Composer: RH Vikram and Vishal Chandrasekhar

Yaatreega's world music elements accompanied by the haunting melody crooned with finesse by Navin Iyer while the uncredited female vocal pieces are scintillating gelgels well with the tone of the son. Amalraj's brilliant usage of Oud, Saz and Burmese Harp being the undeniable highlight which makes this one delectable music experience while late Na Muthukumar shines with his lyrics. Maria Kavitha Thomas's fangled rendition of typical pop styled tune of Enai Maraikirene aside, the real awesomeness is in the arrangements led by Martin Visser's Baritone Sax and Shyam Benjamin's serene prelude piano keys accentuate the groove of the song very well.

Foreign Return is another mass kuthu number crooned by Anirudh Ravichander and he sails through the song effortlessly. Despite the staid Kuthu portions, the remaining elements incorporated by RH Vikram are alluring from the brilliant usage of Manoj Kumar's Kazoo in the prelude to traditional vocals by Anthony Dasan and Ritu. One wishes that Kuthu portions could have been done better. Vishal Chandrasekhar's displayed his prowess in full throttle with Nee Illa Aagayam where Yazin Nizar steals the show with his dynamic vocal range and the way singer ends the song is the splendid one. Kraven's sharp acoustic blues guitar strums add another haunting tone to the song and the interludes make this one compelling listen.It's a delight to listen to Yazin Nizar's high-pitched portions and the humming towards the end is top notch from the singer Vishal Chandrasekhar strikes a chord with the alternative rock number Ey Jajabor in Assamese language written and crooned by Kraven Stratfile and the song is adequately infectious with the Kraven's guitar work stands out.Thottil Madiyil rides mainly on the mellifluous vocals of Chinmayi and the minimal arrangement song by RH Vikram works despite being less than 2 minutes.

Verdict: Rangoon's highly experimental tracks by debutant RH Vikram and Vishal Chandrasekhar is sure to stay in the playlist of music lovers who love to listen to the sounds hugely deviant of normal Tamil albums.

My Rating: 8/10

Pick of the Album: Nee Illa Aagayam, Yaathreega,  Ey Jajabor